What’s For Dinner? 2/26/16-3/4/16

20160226_232953 [75824]

I may not plan many things, but I’m a menu planner.  Planning my dinners a week in advance helps save my sanity.  I usually start with a few ideas and then sit down with my children to see if they have any thoughts or wishes.  While I am the final decision maker, when I include my kiddos, they take ownership of the menu and tend to look forward to the meals.  It’s not full proof, but it goes a long way in lessening dinner disputes.

We have a chalkboard wall in our kitchen and we post the weekly menus.  Everyone knows what to expect.  It cuts down on those last minute trips to the grocery store because we make the menus before our weekly trip.  I’ve often had friends ask me about sharing our menus.  I usually write our menus on Friday and today I thought why not share.

I try to cook enough to have leftovers some days, so we won’t usually have 7 meals listed over 7 days.  This week we’ll be eating the following :

Friday- Salmon Croquettes, Roasted Potatoes and Broccoli

Saturday- Turkey Burgers, Sweet Potato Fries, and Cole Slaw

Sunday- Pork Loin, Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes, and Honey Balsamic Kale

Monday- Leftovers

Tuesday- Red Beans and Rice with Salad and Cornbread

Wednesday- Leftovers

Thursday- Chicken Piccata

Friday- Something with Shrimp ( Every now and then I’m not super specific.)

My goal is to update the blog with recipes to go along with the menu throughout the week.

How do you plan your dinners?

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner? 2/26/16-3/4/16

  1. I try to plan our dinners (although there is normally a spanner in the works somewhere) and just posted one last week https://carsandcooking.wordpress.com/2016/02/21/meal-planning-210216/

    I’ll plan today or tomorrow for next week and we will probably do two shops over the week. Look forward to your piccata recipe, something good I tried and enjoyed fairly recently. The whole menu sounds good though. I might try to pop another meal plan up tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

