Butternut Squash and Sweet Potato Soup

Fall 2014-K 087

Butternut Squash and Sweet Potato Soup @ HillLove

When the weather cools down it’s hard not to want a  big bowl of soup to warm you up.  My kids and I get really excited when we see butternut squash in the grocery store in the fall.  We LOVE butternut squash soup on it’s own, but I grew up on LOTS of sweet potatoes in Louisiana,  and combining the sweetness of the two just works.

This soup has some Asian flavors, which are always a hit with my gang. There are a few steps, but this soup is super easy to put together.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large butternut squash, cooked
  • 2 medium – large sweet potatoes, cooked
  • 1/2 c- 1 1/2 c water
  • 2 Tbsp butter (To keep this recipe completely dairy free, use all olive oil instead of butter)
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp powdered ginger (fresh is fine- you only need about 1/2-1tsp depending on your taste, but I keep powdered on hand.)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • salt  and pepper to taste
  • 32 oz of chicken broth
  • 1, 15oz can of coconut milk
  • chopped green onion for garnish, optional

How to:

There are two ways you can cook the veggies. I usually roast my squash and sweet potatoes in a 375 degree oven for 45 minutes to one hour, or until they are soft.  You can cut the squash in half, scoop out the seeds, and place face down in a pan with 1/2 cup of water.  I poke holes in the sweet potatoes with a fork and let them cook whole in a pan.

The last time I made this soup I was going to be out of the house most of the day, so I cooked the squash and sweet potatoes in my crock pot.  It worked out really well.  I just prepared the squash like I would have for the oven and placed it in the crock pot with the untouched sweet potatoes and 1 1/2 cups of water.  I cooked them on low until I returned home which was about 6 hours later.

In a large pot over medium heat melt the 2 Tbsp of butter. Add olive oil.  Add the onions and cook slowly stirring often to let the onions caramelize.  You’ll know they’re done because they’ll have a beautiful caramel color.  Add the garlic and cook until tender and fragrant.

For the next step if you have an immersion blender, you can do everything in the soup pot.  If not, scoop the inside the the potatoes and the squash into your blender.  Add the onion and garlic mixture and the can of coconut milk and blend well. If the mixture is too thick, you may add some of your chicken broth.  You want to blend everything until it’s smooth.

Return the contents of the blender to the pot and continue cooking over medium heat.  Add the rest of your chicken broth and your seasonings (onion powder, ginger powder, cumin, curry powder, salt and pepper).  Stir well and simmer on medium low heat for about  20 minutes to allow the flavors to meld.  Serve in big bowls and top with green onions.

This soup goes well with good crusty bread and salad. To please my meat loving husband I sometimes serve this with chicken satay or teriyaki meatballs.

I hope you enjoy this as much as we do.  Happy fall!

4 thoughts on “Butternut Squash and Sweet Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

