Morning Glory Carrot Oat Muffins

DSCN1382

My kids LOVE their daddy!  There is something super special about that relationship. I feel so fortunate I get a front row seat to view that kind of love.  When he gets home in the evenings the screams and squeals can hardly be contained. I’m sure many of you can relate.  I mean all we’re missing is the Ticker Tape Parade.  So, when he had to go out of town for work, they missed him terribly. At one point I was wondering if my oldest was going to survive the four whole days!?!?

My husband LOVES Carrot Cake, but I don’t make it as often as I used to.  I actually have been a little lazy lately and hadn’t made these muffins for a while either.  These are something we make when we have the taste for Carrot Cake, but want a healthier and quicker option. Carrot Cake taste, no Cream Cheese Icing needed.  They make a great breakfast addition or snack.  They have veggies and fruit and make you feel like you’re having cake for breakfast…WIN…WIN!  My version is made with quick cooking oats and oat flour so my entire family can enjoy them.  They freeze well, so you can make a bunch and keep them on hand, and pop them in the microwave for about 45 seconds to enjoy.

My kids like to crowd in the kitchen to make these. My husband returned home from his trip pretty late and they wanted him to wake up to something they knew would make him smile. They actually came looking for me to make sure I was up early enough to make them.   I should probably rename these” Daddy’s Muffins” because they often suggest these when they are trying to do something special for him.

Ingredients:

  • 1 c quick cooking oats
  • 1c oat flour
  • 1 c sugar
  • 2 tsp baking saoda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp ginger (you may also add a tsp of ginger)
  • 2 c grated carrots
  • 1/2 c raisins
  • 1/2 c shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 c chopped pecans (optional)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 c oil (I generally use coconut or canola.)
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 apple or pear, cored and shredded
  • 1/4 c unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/4 c ground flax meal (optional)

DSCN1380

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder, salt, ginger, and xanthan gum.  Stir in carrots, raisins, coconut, and pecans.  In a separate bowl, combine the eggs, oil, vanilla, and apple.  Add to the flour mixture.  Stir until combined.  Spoon into greased muffin tins.  Bake for 18-20 minutes.  Makes 18 muffins.

DSCN1387

Leave a Reply

