Help Me Remember

I wrote this at the beginning of the school year. When I re-read this recently, I couldn’t help smiling because day by day God is allowing me to be more present with my children and able to appreciate them in all their awesomeness. He is indeed helping me to remember to celebrate and praise Him in everything He is doing in our lives.

I have been having a really hard time lately.  I have felt stressed, depressed, and overwhelmed by life in general.  I have been feeling pretty sorry for myself.

Tonight my neighbor, who had open heart surgery not long ago, told me his wife had surgery yesterday because she fell and broke her hip. There was no “oh poor me” in his voice or disposition. With all he has going on, he still had the biggest smile on his face and a graciousness you don’t see very often.

When we said our prayers tonight, my son prayed for our neighbors and it made me think, “Lord, help me remember.”  When I see those neighbors they are always in such great spirits.  When they look at my children there is always a special glimmer in their eyes.

Lord, help me remember how powerful a kind spirit and smile can be.

Lord, help me remember if I am thinking more about others than I am myself, situations take on a whole new perspective and meaning.

Lord, help me  remember the blessing of good health.

Lord, help me remember to appreciate the gift of good people.

Lord, help me  remember not to wish this time away.

Lord, help me remember to look at my children the way those older wiser people in our lives do.  They really are awesome and I need to take the time to appreciate their awesomeness more.

Lord, help me to remember that on those days when nothing seems to go according to plan that it can still be a good day.

Tonight, I let my kids have the extra hugs they are always requesting as I thought, “Lord help me remember they won’t always want to hold me tightly.

Lord, help me remember that even on the days when my favorite time is bedtime, how fortunate I am to have my babies safe at home with me.

Lord, help me remember you CHOSE me to take care of them.

Most importantly, Lord, help me remember to always say THANK YOU.

Leave a Reply

