Heavenly Hash Cake Is Just as Good Wheat Free!

DSCN1034

A couple of months ago, I posted my grandmother’s recipe for Heavenly Hash Cake.  I was missing her, and baking always makes me feel a little bit closer to her.  The only problem was my son could only have that version one day out of the week.  It’s heartbreaking to watch a little one, who LOVES chocolate, have to use such restraint because it means his mother, who also LOVES chocolate, must also use restraint.

My oldest always has great ideas and this particular day was no different.  My son was out of the house with his dad and I was trying to think of something to make for dessert.  I wanted Heavenly Hash, but didn’t want to deprive my son.  When asked to brainstorm other dessert ideas with me, she couldn’t let go of the idea of how good it would be to have a Heavenly Hash Cake again.  Her suggestion was to just make it without wheat.  She makes everything sound so easy. She’s like having your own personal cheerleader.  “Mommy, I know you can make this without wheat”, she says.  “Just try…You can figure out anything…You always come up with something great when you think you can’t…It would be a great surprise when they come home!”

I fell for it hook, line, and sinker as I always do.  Good thing because the wheat free version was just as good as the original!

DSCN1035

Ingredients:

  • 1 c butter, room temperature
  • 2 c sugar
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1 1/2 c oat flour
  • 1/2 cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 c water
  • 2 c chopped pecans

Icing Ingredients:

  • 1 lb sifted powdered sugar
  • 1/4 c cocoa powder
  • 1/2 c cream or evaporated milk
  • 1/4 c butter, melted

How to:

  1. Make a paste by mixing 1/4 c oat flour and 1 c water in a small saucepan or pot.  Stir over medium heat until the mixture thickens.  Turn off heat and set aside to cool.
  2. Cream butter and sugar.
  3. Add eggs.
  4. Sift remaining 1 1/4 c oat flour and the other dry ingredients together in a separate bowl.  Set aside.
  5. Add vanilla to the creamed mixture.
  6. Add sifted dry ingredients and mix well.
  7. Add the oat flour paste and pecans(optional) and mix well.
  8. Pour batter into a 13 x 9 greased and floured pan.
  9. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes.
  10. Immediately upon removing the cake, cover the cake with the marshmallows.  Set aside for 5 minutes.
  11. Pour icing over marshmallows and let cool completely before cutting into squares.

Icing Instructions: Combine the powdered sugar, cocoa powder, cream, and butter.  Beat until smooth.  Pour over cake.

Note:  Yes I did eat the crumbs on my plate afterwards.  Don’t judge me.  At least I didn’t lick the plate like my 6 year old.

2 thoughts on “Heavenly Hash Cake Is Just as Good Wheat Free!

Leave a Reply

