Wheat Free Blueberry Scones

DSCN1020

I really love a hot baked breakfast.  Scones always make me feel like I’ve started my day with a treat! My kids know how much I love scones, and therefore love putting the idea in my head to have them for breakfast.  When my son mentioned it had been a long time since we had Blueberry Scones, he knew I’d go for the idea hook, line, and sinker.  After all it’s spring and time for lighter flavors!  Normally, I would make Tyler Florence’s Blueberry Scones, but of course my son can’t eat those. This is my wheat free version we can all enjoy!

These scones are moist and rich because of the heavy cream.  Yes, I said heavy cream in your morning baked goods.  Having something rich simply starts your day off right. I think of it this way, if you have cream and butter in the morning, you have all day to work it off!  It’s spring.  This breakfast is a perfect reason to enjoy the great weather outdoors and go for a walk;).

Ingredients:

  • 2 c oat flour
  • 1/2 c quick cooking oats
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 6 Tbsp cold butter
  • 1 c fresh or frozen blueberries
  • 3/4 c heavy cream
  • 1/4 c milk

Combine the flour, quick oats, baking powder, xanthan gum, and salt in a medium-sized bowl.  Cut in the cold butter with a pastry blender or two knives.  The mixture should resemble a coarse meal.  Toss in the blueberries and lightly stir to make sure they are coated with the flour mixture.  Combine the heavy cream and milk in a measuring cup and pour into the blueberry mixture. Make sure it is well combined.  This dough will be really sticky.

You do not need to knead the dough.  If you are using a scone pan, grease the pan and  simply spoon the dough into each section.  Level out the dough and make sure it completely fills the pan.  I find it easier to bake these scones on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Scoop the dough onto the parchment and shape into a circle with well floured hands.  Cut into 8 triangles.   Bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Top with Lemon Glaze and enjoy.

Lemon Glaze Ingredients:

  • Zest and juice of 1 large lemon
  • 1 1/2 – 2c powdered sugar

In a small bowl, zest and juice the lemon.  Add in the powdered sugar and stir until you form a glaze.  You want to be able to pour it over the scones and easily spread with a spoon because they are delicate.

One thought on “Wheat Free Blueberry Scones

  1. Pingback: Blueberry Oat Muffins | hill love

Leave a Reply

