Wheat Free Pumpkin “Scones”

Wheat Free Pumpkin Scones

Wheat Free Pumpkin Scones

I am raising carb junkies.  It’s a serious problem I have passed on to my children.  I take full responsibility.  It nearly broke our hearts when we found out my son is allergic to wheat.  Per the allergists instructions we limit his wheat intake to once a week.  We love baked goods at my house, so the idea of only being able to have them every once in a while was REALLY NOT WORKING for us.  What to do…what to do?  Come up with ways to get our wheat fix, that’s what! Today I was in the mood for something warm and yummy for breakfast, but it’s not “Wheat Day”. It was the perfect day for our Wheat Free “Scones”.

This recipe isn’t a healthy version of scones.  I may try to work on making them with healthier ingredients later.  My main focus this morning was making sure I could make one delicious baked good we could all enjoy.  And if I must say so myself, we certainly did!

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1 1/4 cup oat flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 3 tsp ginger
  • 1 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/3 cup milk

Mix together the first 7 ingredients in a medium sized bowl.  Using a pastry cutter or fork, cut the butter into the dry ingredients.  In a separate bowl combine the egg, pumpkin puree, and milk.  Add the mixture to the dry ingredients and stir until well combined.  Unlike traditional scones you do not have to knead the dough.  The oats and oat flour make a very soft mixture. It’s somewhere between a really wet dough and a really thick batter. Spoon the “dough” into a scone pan.   I use a scone pan to bake them to keep the scone shape (If you don’t have a scone pan you could try making a circle on  a parchment lined  baking sheet and cut into 8 triangles).  Bake at 400 degrees for 15-18 minutes.  It makes 8 “scones”.

Top with your favorite glaze or enjoy them plain.  We topped them with a cream cheese icing.  I heated 1 oz of cream cheese for 25 seconds in the microwave.  I then added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and 3/4-1 cup of powdered sugar.  Stir until combined.  Spread the icing when the “scones” come out of the oven and are still hot.

Winter 2015 007

Leave a Reply

