Sweet Potato Baked Oatmeal

As a kid I never liked breakfast.  For a good part of my adult life I didn’t even bother with it.  All that changed when I became pregnant with my first child.  I could no longer skip breakfast.  At least if I still wanted to have friends by mid morning.  The extreme hunger only grew during nursing. When my little one began to want a real food breakfast, I realized I needed to cook things that would appeal to me too.  I attribute this journey to the reason I cook breakfast almost everyday.

Cold cereal and milk will not do for me.  My kids think it’s a huge treat.  Now with three, there have been days when I’ve made do with cereal because I was too tired to care.  Some mornings are made for elaborate breakfasts, but most are made for the quick breakfast that feels elaborate when you eat it.  That’s what this baked oatmeal is.  You can mix it up and pop it in the oven while you take care of that list of things you have in the morning.  Or is that just me?

I came up with this recipe to meet my need for something yummy and my never-ending quest to let nothing go to waste. I happened to have some leftover candied yams from the night before.  There weren’t enough left to feed my family of 5 so instead I used them to make breakfast!

Ingredients

  • 1-1/2 cups mashed sweet potatoes (I used leftover candied yams)
  • 2 cups quick cooking oats
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans and extra for top of bake
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp canola oil
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 2 tsp baking powder,
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • Note: ( You can add 1/2 tsp cinnamon, but I did not because my son is allergic).

Mash the yams in a large bowl. They do not have to be completely mashed. I actually like them a little chunky. Add the remaining ingredients to the bowl and mix until well combined. Add to a greased 8 x 8 baking pan and top with additional chopped pecans to taste. Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes or until set in the center. Cut into squares and serve warm. If you do not have leftover yams, I would add about 1 tsp each of nutmeg, ginger, and cinnamon to your cooked sweet potatoes and maybe a little maple syrup.

What you end up with is an easy, warm, yummy breakfast perfect for a cool day.  Fall 2014-K 005

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Baked Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

