I’m a Kid Again!

It’s really easy to underestimate how much you can really miss simple treats.  Being the mother of young children graham crackers had been a staple snack/treat in our house for  years.  That is until my 5 year old was diagnosed with food allergies this past April and told to avoid certain foods including wheat and rice! Because of this many of the simple and easy snacks we took for granted have been off limits.

Last night I decided to substitute oat and rye flour in a recipe I found for homemade graham crackers and yay it worked!  I followed the recipe I found on http://food52.com/recipes/29264-great-graham-crackers, except I used 1/2 cup rye flour and 1 3/4 cup oat flour.  Rolling out an oat flour dough is slightly more difficult than wheat and the dough cracks easily, but the taste and the texture of the baked crackers is great.

Simple snack crackers that actually taste like the real thing!! They were crispy and had just the right sprinkling of sugar.  Most importantly they were approved by my toughest critics, my 3 young kids that love baked goods.  I had one right out of the oven and immediately felt like a kid again!  S’mores are now back on the menu at the Hill House!!!!

017

One thought on “I’m a Kid Again!

  1. Pingback: Sweet Beginnings | hill love

Leave a Reply

